Catching up

I did a lot of stimming in the time I didn’t write. Twelve whole days, in fact! They had me upping my dose almost every time, and I had to buy more meds, unfortunately… those things are, I swear, made of ground diamonds. It’s the only explanation I can come up with.

But we ended up at 300 IU of both Menopur and Follistim, and we started adding in Ganirelix on day 6. It did a good job of keeping my LH down, that’s for sure.. looking at my lab results I could see it drop like a stone. I really hated the ganirelix shots. The needles were not nearly as sharp as I expected, so the first one I had to do, at work, of all places since I had to close, was a nasty surprise. But I couldn’t get too amped up about it because I wasn’t expecting it. No, it was day two that I had a problem with it. Although once I discovered the magic of icing the injection site, I was much much happier with the creepy pushing through rubber sensation.

And my estrogen levels always seemed to level out and then jump again when we upped the dose, although my last few days as the eggs matures they really did hop up. At my last monitoring appointment, on Friday, they were just over 2100… and I stimmed that night. And then triggered on Saturday.

Since we hadn’t had a lesson in doing the IM shots, we drove up north of town to have R’s mom do the trigger  shot for us, and teach him how to do it as well. I mixed it all up, and was rather proud of myself for managing to get it all out. Darn HCG… makes you feel pregnant, even when you’re not really. And evidently my muscles are a bit sensitive, because that darn thing hurt for a couple of days. I dread the PIO. My ovaries were pretty sore the last few days, too.

But it all goes pretty well.

Posted in ivf. Tags: . Leave a Comment »

Leave a comment


»